The General Meeting, which consists of shareholders or their representatives and is the highest decision-making organ of the Bank

The Board of Directors, comprising ten members from the three classes of shareholders (Four representing Class “A” shareholders including one director designated by the African Development Bank (AFDB), four representing
Class B  shareholders and two representing Class C  shareholders).

The Board of Directors forms its subsidiary organs which include:

The Executive Committee chaired by the President (ex-officio) and composed of three Board members representing the three classes of shareholders. The Executive Committee meets once a month or more often, to make decisions on matters delegated to it by the Board, such as those relating to investment, guarantee and financing operations. At the branch level, the Board appoints and determines the powers and composition of the Branch Management Committee.

The Audit Committee composed of three Directors representing the three classes of shareholders and is empowered by the Board to review, examine and verify the proper application of financial, operational and administrative policies and procedures of the Bank.The President is appointed by the General Meeting upon the recommendation of the Board of Directors, for a term of five years, renewable once.

The Senior Executive Vice-President and one or more Executive Vice-Presidents may be appointed by the Board of Directors upon the recommendation of the President. The Bank’s branch offices, are headed by Executive Vice-Presidents.

Other statutory positions are those of the Executive Secretary and the Internal Auditor.

The President is the Chief Executive Officer of the Bank and is empowered to appoint management; professional and non-professional (support) staff to assist him in the day-to-day management of the Bank.

The Bank’s functional structure will continue to evolve over time but presently consists of staff in the areas of Banking Operations; Credit; Administration, Human Resources; Finance; Treasury; Legal Services; Research and Planning; Strategy and International Cooperation; Trade Finance and Branches; Project and Export Development Finance; Risk Management; Executive Secretariat; External Communications; Corporate Finance and Advisory services; Syndications and Specialised Finance; Information Technology; Compliance; and the Presidency.

Print This Page